Stuff I Missed: Let It Be?

How I missed this I will never know.

VA Let It Be: Black America Sings Lennon, McCartney & Harrison 2016 Ace Records


1. Aretha Franklin – Eleanor Rigby 02:34
2. The 5 Stairsteps – Dear Prudence 03:32
3. Earth, Wind & Fire – Got To Get You Into My Life 04:02
4. Mary Wells – Do You Want To Know A Secret 02:37
5. Four Tops – The Fool On The Hill 03:26
6. Fats Domino – Lovely Rita 02:30
7. Nina Simone – Here Comes The Sun 03:32
8. Arthur Conley – Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da 02:58
9. The Supremes – A World Without Love 02:43
10. Junior Parker – Tomorrow Never Knows 03:24
11. Randy Crawford – Don’t Let Me Down 03:56
12. The Undisputed Truth – With A Little Help From My Friends 04:24
13. Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – A Hard Day’s Night 02:27
14. Ike & Tina Turner – She Came In Through The Bathroom Window 02:32
15. Maceo & All The King’s Men – For No One 03:36
16. Gary “US” Bonds – It’s Only Love 03:06
17. Dionne Warwick – We Can Work It Out 02:31
18. The Temptations – Hey Jude 03:31
19. Boyz II Men – In My Life 02:31
20. Ella Fitzgerald – Savoy Truffle 02:46
21. Isaac Hayes – Something 11:42
22. Bill Withers – Let It Be 02:35

“Our recent “Come Together: Black America Sings Lennon & McCartney” release was so well received that a second volume became a certainty. Here on “Let It Be” we extend the remit by bringing in the Beatles’ third great songwriter, George Harrison. Given that their prolific songwriting sprang from a shared appreciation of black American music of the 1950s and early 60s, it should surprise nobody that Lennon, McCartney and Harrison would come up with songs that would inspire black Americans to add them to their discographies.

It was not long after Beatlemania broke out all over the USA that their songs started to find their way into the catalogues of notable black American artists. By the middle of the 1960s soul and jazz performers were rushing to find the pick hits on new Beatles albums in the same way pop and rock acts had in the UK a year or two earlier.

The songs here span the Beatles’ entire discography, from the “Please Please Me” album to “Let It Be”, and features an agreeable blend of tracks that stick fairly close to the group’s own visions and others for which the term radical interpretation might be an understatement. A few artists from “Come Together” are welcomed back, as are a couple of songs, but in totally different treatments.

Highlights include Mary Wells’ beguiling boss nova-styled ‘Do You Want To Know A Secret’, Aretha Franklin’s first person singular romp through ‘Eleanor Rigby’, the Temptations giving ‘Hey Jude’ a boogie woogie groove and Bill Withers’ sanctified essay on our title song.”

About spinladen

DJ at KWVA University of Oregon campus radio, record collector, artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s