Listen Whitey!

No compilation seems more prescient than this one right now!

have a taste, get more here

Elaine Brown-Until We’re Free

Amiri Baraka-Who Will Survive America

Various artists: Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power 1967-1974 (2012 ) Light In The Attic Rec

01. Shahid Quintet – Invitation To Black Power (Parts 1 & 2) (6:07)
02. Stokely Carmichael – Free Huey (4:51)
03. Eddie Harris – Silent Majority (Live At Newport) (5:50)
04. Elaine Brown – Until We’re Free (2:15)
05. The Watts Prophets – Dem Niggers Ain’t Playing (1:54)
06. Marlena Shaw – Woman Of The Ghetto (Live At Montreux) (10:06)
07. Gregory Dick – Black Power (2:50)
08. Kain – I Ain’t Black (5:51)
09. Roy Harper – I Hate The White Man (8:05)
10. Gil Scott-Heron – Winter In America (Solo Version) (6:28)
11. Eldridge Cleaver – Tim Leary (5:32)
12. John Lennon – Angela (4:09)
13. The Lumpen – Free Bobby Now (2:23)
14. The Original Last Poets – Die Nigga!!! (3:18)
15. Amiri Baraka – Who Will Survive America (3:06)

“Over a five year period in Oakland, CA – archivist Pat Thomas befriended key leaders of the seminal Black Power Movement, dug through Huey Newton’s archives at Stanford University, spent countless hours and thousands of dollars on eBay, and talked to rank and file Black Panther Party members, uncovering dozens of obscure albums, singles, and stray tapes. Along the way, he began to piece together a time period (1967-1974) when revolutionaries were seen as pop culture icons: Bobby Seale, Eldridge Cleaver, Angela Davis, Stokely Carmichael – and musicians were seen as revolutionaries; Gil Scott-Heron, The Last Poets, Bob Dylan, John Lennon and others. As a result, Thomas wrote a 70,000-word hardcover book entitled Listen, Whitey! The Sights and Sounds of Black Power 1965 – 1975 (published by Fantagraphics) which also includes some 200 full color images of obscure recordings that encompass rock, soul, jazz, comedy, poetry, and even religious sermons blended with Black Nationalism.

Light In The Attic present the companion ‘soundtrack’ to the book, “Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power 1967 – 1974”. For the time first ever, Black and White artists share space on a definitive anthology of the Black Power era. A cross-cultural overview that sees Bob Dylan’s out of print 1971 single “George Jackson” reissued for the first time along with several selections from Motown’s long forgotten ‘Black Forum’ label – Motown’s early 70’s Black Power militant imprint that has never been documented until now with provocative recordings from SNCC spokesman Stokely Carmichael, outspoken African-American poet Amiri Baraka, and Black Panther Party singer/songwriter Elaine Brown.”

About spinladen

DJ at KWVA University of Oregon campus radio, record collector, artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s